Skin Tags


Sounds like the name of a good thriller doesn’t it? Might use that one.

In fact it’s what I’ve just had removed from my arm pits. I didn’t need them removed by the way,  they weren’t catching on clothing or bleeding when I washed ‘mi pits or anything as worthy as that. Oh no. I did for vanity. Plain and simple. Didn’t like the look of ’em when I lifted my arms, so I got the doc to lop the buggers off.

I’ve got a reputation to upkeep. Didn’t you know?

What’s this got to do with thrillers, I hear you ask. Well, what about the fact that we – authors – lop off stuff from our writing (during the edits) that we have previously clung on to. Will that do? Stuff we’ve held to our breasts and our arm pits through most of the re-writes. Stuff that we loved – the paragraph written so pleasingly, the scene so cool that it gave us a warm glow. Except it doesn’t take the piece forward. It’s just there for no other purpose than it is there.

It’s a skin tag folks!

I write pacy thrillers. They move at a million miles an hour (did I say a million? Two million, I meant two million); they are F.A.S.T. So we can’t have bits that are surplus to, can we?

 ‘Course not.

Now leave me alone while I change the dressing on my surgical wounds.

xx

Leave a Reply

